Monthly archives: March, 2015

Powered by Vitus!!

CRC_2015_squareLogoVitus 2015 logo

We have some great news for all the riders that are thinking of trying out XC racing for the first time this year in the Senior 4 Men and Senior 3 Women categories, and also for those who might have been racing for a while but would like to have a more serious go at it!

  • You don’t have a mountain bike but you would like to try XC racing?
  • Have you ever wondered what it would be like to race XC on a brand new lightweight carbon bike?
  • Would you like to feel like a professional XC racer and have your bike prepared especially for you by top bike mechanics before the race?

Here is your chance! Brought to you by Chain Reaction Cycles and powered by Vitus here are the two beautiful machines you will be in a chance to race on in one of the 2015 XC NPS rounds (as demo bikes) !

Vitus Bikes Rapide 290 Hardtail Bike 2015 (Senior 4 Men)


Vitus Bikes Sentier L Womens Hardtail Bike 2015 (Senior 3 Women)


The lucky riders will be given the bikes one week before the race so they can get used to them, race on them on Sunday and then hand them over to the Chain Reaction Cycles representative after the race (after the mandatory post race photo of course)!

The lucky riders will be selected randomly (names in a hat) based on the following criteria:

Senior 4 Men – first 20 riders to register online
Senior 3 Women – first 10 riders to register online

Sign on for Round 1 in Djouce Woods (hosted by Team WORC) is only 4 weeks away and the online registration opens tomorrow at 6:00 p.m. Don’t be late!!!!

Online Registration

Round 1 Djouce Woods, Team WORC

Who’s registered?

2015 XC NPS Rider rankings and grading rules!


Below is the list of all compulsory rider upgrades for the 2015 season (marked mandatory) and riders that we thought would benefit from moving up (marked recommended):

Senior 2 Men -> Senior 1 (mandatory)
Clive Caldwell Caldwell Cycles Omagh
Colm McGarvey Epic MTB / Expert Cycles
Gene Ryan DLCO / Scott
Peter Boaden Gravity BC
Senior 2 Men -> Senior 1 (recommended)
Ben Breach Epic MTB / Expert Cycles
Colm Keane IMBRC
Gary Sheils Newry Wheelers CC
Gavin O’Connell Team WORC
Peter Mc Conville Newry Wheelers CC
Senior 3 Men -> Senior 2 (mandatory)
Christopher Campbell Epic MTB / Expert Cycles
Gavin Anyon Xmtb McConvey Cycles
Raymond Kerr Lakeland
Ronan O’Sullivan Team Giant Dublin
Sean Scullion Island Wheelers
Senior 3 Men -> Senior 2 (recommended)
Killian Callaghan / Vitus
Paul Caldwell IMBRC
Senior 4 Men -> Senior 3 (mandatory)
Aaron Parks ShelbourneMotors / Orchard Wheelers
Gerard Ferrity Island Wheelers
Gordon Roberts Island Wheelers
Jake Mooney Eire Og C.C.
Johnny McRoberts Maryland Wheelers
Kieran Gilligan Island Wheelers
Patrick Santini *Unattached*
Paul Taylor Carn Wheelers
Stephen Hoey *Unattached*
Senior 3 Women -> Senior 2 (recommended)
Sinead Ryan The ML Syndicate
Senior 2 Women -> Senior 1
No mandatory upgrades

2015 League points scheme

The points are based on the following scheme.
(as agreed at the Offroad AGM 2015)

  • Senior categories – all rounds count, no minimum attendance required for overall trophies
  • Youth categories – 4 of 5 rounds count, no minimum attendance required for overall trophies
  • League points will be awarded in the Senior 4 Men category, however there will be no overall trophy (winner moves up after each round)
  • League points will be awarded in the Senior 3 Women category, however there will be no overall trophy and the winner of each round can either stay in the same category or move up.
Position Points Position Points
1st 30 11th 8
2nd 25 12th 7
3rd 21 13th 6
4th 18 14th 5
5th 16 15th 4
6th 14 16th 3
7th 12 17th 2
8th 11 18th 1
9th 10 19th 1
10th 9 20th 1

* Note: All other finishers will receive 1 point

Grading rules for 2015

  • All top 5 riders in S1, S2 and S3 category (2014) were moved up (based on overall NPS standings)
  • Riders in Senior 4 category (2014) that won at least 1 race were moved up
  • Winner of a Senior 4 race is moved up to Senior 3 race for the following round
  • No mandatory upgrades for Senior Women categories
  • No mandatory downgrading for 2015
  • Newcomers who didn’t race in 2014 can select any category with exception of Senior 1 Men / Women

Several riders have upgraded themselves during previous seasons and thus will continue in the category they upgraded to, or have been identified for upgrade.

Riders are welcome/encouraged to upgrade themselves to a higher category (as high as Senior 2 Men / Women) if they feel that they will have more of a challenge, it also means they will get better value out of their licences and entry fees by racing an additional lap!

All riders have a right to appeal their upgrade, as agreed at the 2013 Offroad AGM.

A rider will need to specifically request to be downgraded by sending an email with the subject “2015 XC NPS category downgrade request” to the XC Co-ordinator

You will need to include your full name, CI Licence number, your 2014 category you competed in, and the 2015 category you are requesting to be downgraded to.
You will also need to include a paragraph justifying why you require downgrade.

Your 2015 racing category should appear on your Cycling Ireland Licence

Any questions/queries please drop an email to: the XC Co-ordinator

Round 1, Team WORC, 19th of April – Course Preview!!

XCO National Championships venue announced!



We have some great news for you!
2015 XC National Championships will be held in Fairymount Farm, Co. Tipperary a.k.a. Bike Park Ireland!
Sponsored by Chain Reaction Cycles.

We can promise you a tough but super fun course, great racing in all categories, amazing facilities and a great day out for the whole family (or friends).
Visit their website at to find out more about the place.

More info to follow!